SoCS – Unruly Pack

socs-badge-2019-2020

For Linda’s Stream of Consciousness Saturday: our prompt is “(un)pack.” Use “pack” or its opposite in your post. Have fun!

2.8.20 pack - pixabay
Artwork by KristenDawn on Pixabay

Unruly Pack

My thoughts run wild, like wolves bereft of the leader of the pack. Unruly and undisciplined they leap and run uselessly without purpose.

I must step in and take control lead the unruly bunch where I want then to go. The breeze catches at my fur as I lift my muzzle to sniff the air. There, the scent of our quarry. Too long has my imagination been starved for lack of a good hunt but now here it is. Carried on the wind as I call in my pack of wild thoughts with a snap and a howl.

Quietly but faster than the speed of wind, we stalk silently, our prey is on the run. Hah! There cornered against a tree, the illusive Beast of Inspiration. My unruly pack now disciplined and precise cautiously move in. We pounce, my pack and I. Devouring the Inspiration’s ideas and schemes. Thoughts become plans, vagaries become twists, goals become purpose, daydreams become characters. Yes, my pack of unruly thoughts feed and feed upon the Inspiration until finally they are sated. And the story begins to take form.

“The night was cold and dreary as a sliver of crescent moon peeked out from behind a cloud. Her cloak damp with the mists of Erthean forest, eyes of céladon green scanned the horizon.”

Word count 216

Til next time ~Peace ~JPP

8 thoughts on “SoCS – Unruly Pack

Leave a comment