JusJoJan 14 – Publish

jusjojan 2020

ForLinda’s JusJoJan 14 – our prompt today is supplied by Ritu at But I Smile Anyway the prompt is “Publish.” Wow! That’s a loaded one for a bunch of writers isn’t it. 😉

journals 1

Stories of Failure and Success

“You have written a half dozen book of poetry and at least three novellas but you don’t intend to publish them?” Sarah furrowed her eyebrows while glaring slightly at her dear old friend.

“Yep, that’s right.” Topaz patted a pile of booklets, all printed, illustrated and carefully bound by her own hand. They were her own personal collection of her own personal writing.

“That’s crazy Topaz, any publisher would love to get their hands on your work. Surely you are not afraid of rejection.”

Topaz set down her tea cup and looked intently into her younger friend’s eyes. “Sarah dear, I do not fear rejection nor do I fear failure, for those are other people’s opinions of my work and therefore they are meaningless.”

“Then why not publish? You could even self-publish.” Sarah began to smile at the idea.

Topaz just smiled quietly, “there is only one thing I do fear my dear. That which can corrupt and destroy work that was brought forth with the very best intention. What I fear is not failure, but success.”

word count 177

Super Trooper from the movie Mamma Mia

Til next time ~Peace ~JPP

8 thoughts on “JusJoJan 14 – Publish

  1. Indeed… what would success do to your life?

    Publish – yes, a loaded word indeed for writers out there, but it was the main thing on my mind, as my own first novel is due for publication in a few weeks!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Wasn’t intentional. And it was a while before I realised; walking along terrifyingly close to the edge of a cliff… couldn’t have done that before, and my daughter realised and remarked on it 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment